Baking mad!!


Well here we are nearly 2 weeks into the new year and I have gone baking (not barking!!) mad. My sourdough starter has taken on a life of its own so I have baked a plethora of sourdough loaves and rolls.

If you haven’t tried sourdough yet I highly recommend it. It does take a while to get your starter going and the baking process is a bit longer, but the results are so worth it. I have placed instructions for creating your starter here and a basic sourdough recipe here.

I will be baking some sweet rolls tonight filled with nuts and raisins.

For some reason I am really enjoying my baking at the moment which is great. What treats have you been baking so far this year? Please let me know as it may give me a few new ideas and if you haven’t started yet – give it a go. The small effort involved is well worth it and your family and friends will certainly appreciate it.

Just a quick update on my new guide to baking. It is pretty much finished now. I am just putting the final touches to it and adding some of my favourite recipes. This has been a labour of love and if you are interested in getting a copy, keep an eye out as I will be releasing it pretty soon. If you want to make sure you don’t miss it you can opt in to be notified here

2 thoughts on “Baking mad!!

  1. Oh I’m glad I found your site! I just recently started a sourdough starter and I’m just not sure if it’s proceeding the way it’s supposed to. I let it sit for about 4 days and it definitely had a sour smell. Then I started feeding it. I’m just not sure if it’s flourishing. I don’t know what to look for and what the smell should be. Meanwhile I have a poolish dough making it’s first rise! I love homemade bread!

  2. Hi there,
    Ahh the sourdough starter. It can be quite temperamental! Had it begun to ferment before you started feeding? As far as the smell is concerned, it really does vary but can be sweet or sour. However it should develop over a week or so and become more rounded and “yeasty.” If you would like a more detailed response, drop me a line at dalysbread@gmail.com and I will be happy to help – this may be good for a future post, problems with your starter.

Leave a Reply

